#### KENT COUNTY COUNCIL

#### **GOVERNOR APPOINTMENTS PANEL**

MINUTES of a meeting of the Governor Appointments Panel held in the Swale 3, Sessions House, County Hall, Maidstone on Friday, 29 June 2012.

PRESENT: Mr D L Brazier (Chairman), Ms S J Carey, Mrs V J Dagger, Mr D S Daley and Mr R Tolputt

OFFICERS: Mrs L Lissimore (Acting Governor Services Manager), Ms T Gimber (School Governance Officer) and Mr A Tait (Democratic Services Officer)

#### **UNRESTRICTED ITEMS**

## 6. Minutes - 27 April 2012 (*Item A3*)

RESOLVED that the minutes of the meeting held on 27 April 2012 are correctly recorded and that they be signed by the Chairman.

## 7. Proposed dates of meetings in 2013 (*Item A4*)

The Panel agreed the following meeting dates in 2013:-

Friday, 8 February 2013; Friday, 26 April 2013; Friday, 28 June 2013; Friday, 4 October 2013; and Friday, 22 November 2013.

## 8. Authority Governors for Primary, Secondary and Special Schools in Kent (*Item B1*)

- (1) The Panel agreed to the re-appointment of Mr D Stanley to the governing body of Briary Primary School as he had been appointed by the Panel in 1996 as an exception to Guideline (d) and had since then continued to serve with distinction.
- (2) The panel agreed to the re-appointment of Mr K Young to the governing body of Sandwich Infant School on the understanding that he would continue to absent himself from any discussion of that School's school meals contract.
- (3) The Panel agreed to re-appoint Mrs S Murdoch to the governing body of Laddingford St Mary's CE Primary School until September 2012 to enable the School to appoint her as a Co-opted Governor if it amended its Constitution.
- (4) The Panel agreed to the re-appointment of Mrs S Andrews to the governing body of Speldhurst CE (VA) Primary School as her attendance record was only marginally below that required, whilst the governing body itself had written a strong letter of support.

(5) RESOLVED the appointments of Authority Governors in Primary, Secondary, Special Schools, Pupil Referral Units, the Pool of Additional Governors and the nominations to non-Authority Academies be agreed as set out in the Appendix to these Minutes.

## 9. New School Governor Constitution Regulations (*Item B2*)

#### **RESOLVED that:-**

- (a) approval be given to the process for appointments set out in paragraph 4.1 of the report (commencing in September 2012); and
- (b) the process be reviewed by the Panel in September 2013.

### **EXEMPT ITEMS**

(Open access to Minutes)

The panel resolved under Section 100A of the Local Government Act 1972 to exclude the public for the following business on the grounds that it involved the disclosure of Exempt Information as defined in paragraphs 1, 2 and 5 of the Act.

## **10.** Request for the removal of an Authority Governor (*Item C1*)

- (1) The Interim Manager of Governor Services reported the circumstances that had led her to request the removal of an Authority Governor. She explained in detail her view that due to his refusal as Chairman of the Governing Body to carry out proper legal processes (or to permit others to carry out these processes in his stead), he was preventing the School from acting in accordance with its agreed legal responsibilities; and that his actions had created a stalemate in securing good leadership for the School during a period of significant change.
- (2) RESOLVED that the Governor in question be removed from his position as an Authority Governor for his failure to follow the necessary legal processes at the School.

# APPENDIX (Paragraph 8 of the Minutes refers)

## 1. ASHFORD

School	Appointee
Bradbourne CE Primary School	Mr B Claridge
Chilham St Mary's CE Primary School	Mr J Allen
Goat Lees Primary School	Mr W Michael
Willesborough Infant School	Mrs J Davey
Woodchurch CE Primary School	Mrs C Woolgar
The Proposed Federation of Tenterden Infant and Junior	
Schools	Mrs H Maple
The Proposed Federation of Tenterden Infant and Junior	
Schools	Mr P Hill
The Proposed Federation of Tenterden Infant and Junior	
Schools	Mrs J Baker

## 2. CANTERBURY

School	Appointee
Briary Primary School	Mr D Stanley
Herne Bay Infant School	Mrs K Amos
Whitstable Junior School	Mrs J Clinton

### 3. DARTFORD

School	Appointee
Bean Primary School	Mr K Prescott
Dartford Technology College	Mr R Heasman
Swan Valley Community School	Mr R Lees
Westgate Primary School	Mrs C Bowes
Westgate Primary School	Mrs J Watson

## 4. DOVER

School	Appointee
The Federation of Dover Catholic Schools	Mr A Sansum
Sandwich Infant School	Mr K Young

### 5. GRAVESHAM

School	Appointee
Ifield School	Ms J Brotherston
Meopham School	Mr K Jones
Painters Ash Primary School	Mr J Montague
Wrotham Road Primary School	Mr C Barnes

#### 6. MAIDSTONE

#### School

Boughton Monchelsea Primary School
Hollingbourne Primary School
Laddingford St Mary's CE Primary School
Marden Primary School
Marden Primary School
North Borough Junior School
Thurnham CE Infant School

#### **Appointee**

Mr I Ellis Mrs Y Evans MBE Mrs S Murdoch Rev A Duguid Mr L Etheridge Mr N Sime Mrs P Dunmill

#### 7. SEVENOAKS

#### School

Chevening (St Botolph's) CE (VA) Primary School Horton Kirby CE Primary School Leigh Primary School Otford Primary School Otford Primary School West Kingsdown CE (VC) Primary School

#### **Appointee**

Mr J London Mr M Palmer Mrs A Smith Mrs T Fitzpatrick Mrs R Phillips Mrs P Bosley

#### 8. SHEPWAY

#### School

The Federation of Foxwood and Highview School
The Federation of Foxwood and Highview School
All Souls' CE Primary School
Cheriton Primary School
Lyminge CE Primary School

Boughton-under-Blean & Dunkirk Primary School

#### **Appointee**

Capt L Belcourt Mrs Y Parry Mr B Shaw Mr A Dunning Mrs C Bartley

### 9. SWALE

#### School

Davington Primary School
Ethelbert Road Primary School
Halfway Houses Primary School
Minster-in-Sheppey Primary School
Murston Junior School
The Proposed Federation of Lower Halstow and Newington
CE Primary Schools
The Proposed Federation of Lower Halstow and Newington
CE Primary Schools

#### **Appointee**

Mrs S Relf Mr S Bartholomew Mrs K Willerton Mrs J Laker Mr K Pugh Mrs N Lyons

Mr P Marshall

Mrs E Winton

#### 10. THANET

School

Birchington CE Primary School

St Crispin's Community Primary Infant School

St Joseph's Catholic Primary School

Stone Bay School

**Upton Junior School** 

Appointee Mr C Hedges

Mrs L Day

Mrs K Dark

Mr G Foden

Mr A Emby

#### 11. TONBRIDGE AND MALLING

School

**Burham CE Primary School** 

Mereworth Community Primary School

Woodlands Infant School

**Appointee** 

Mrs B Young

Mr R Bolsin Mrs A Brittain

#### 12. TUNBRIDGE WELLS

School

Benenden CE Primary School

Benenden CE Primary School

Hawkhurst CE Primary School

Paddock Wood Primary School

Sherwood Park Community Primary School

Sherwood Park Community Primary School

Sissinghurst CE Primary School

Speldhurst CE Primary School

St Gregory's Catholic Comprehensive School

Appointee

Mr P Davies

Mr R Dalton-Holmes

Mr P Badcock

Mrs F Dunn

Dr J Cooke

Rev B Senior

Mr J Keeler

Mrs S Andrews

Rev G Hovenden

#### 13. PUPIL REFERRAL UNITS

PRU

North West Kent Alternative Provision Service

The Cedars Management Committee

Appointee

Mr N Fenton

Mr P Saver

#### 14. PROPOSED FEDERATIONS

#### 15. POOL OF ADDITIONAL GOVERNORS

Mr D Law

Mr D Stanley

Mr R Bolsin

#### 16. NOMINATIONS TO ACADEMIES

Academy

Borden Grammar School

**Appointee** 

Mr P Bromwich

This page is intentionally left blank